Resources for “SQL Server in Azure: Essentials for the Database Administrator”

Author by Concurrency Blog

Thanks for attending my presentation! Here are resources I mentioned to learn more.

Channel 9: Azure Network Infrastructure https://channel9.msdn.com/Blogs/Azure-and-the-Modern-Data-Center/Azure-Network-Infrastructure

Virtual Network Overview: https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/virtual-networks-overview/

MVA: Azure Networking Fundamentals for IT Pros https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/azure-networking-fundamentals-for-it-pros-8917?l=R70kv0B3_6104984382

Azure Portal availability chart https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/features/azure-portal/availability

Azure PowerShell https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/powershell-install-configure/

Azure PowerShell Cmdlet Reference https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/azure/dn708514.aspx

Concurrency Azure Periodic Table http://www.concurrency.com/landing/azure-periodic-table

Availability Sets: https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/virtual-machines-windows-manage-availability/

High availability and disaster recovery for SQL Server in Azure Virtual Machines  https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/virtual-machines-sql-server-high-availability-and-disaster-recovery-solutions/

3 Keys to Configuring Azure Virtual Machines for Use in SQL Server Availability Groups http://www.concurrency.com/blog/w/3-keys-to-configuring-azure-virtual-machines-for-u

Deploy a SQL Server DB to Azure VM wizard - https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/virtual-machines-windows-migrate-sql/#azure-vm-deployment-wizard-tutorial

SQL Server DB Migration wizard - https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/machine-learning-data-science-move-sql-server-virtual-machine/#sql-migration

Azure Automation: Your SQL Agent in the Cloud https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/azure-automation-your-sql-agent-in-the-cloud/

Elastic Database Jobs Overview https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/sql-database-elastic-jobs-overview/

DMV examples: https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/sql-database-monitoring-with-dmvs/

Add Alerts with PowerShell http://www.mikefal.net/2016/08/23/creating-alerts-for-azure-sql-database-with-powershell/

Azure Business Continuity Technical Guidance https://msdn.microsoft.com/library/azure/hh873027.aspx 

Reference: Using the Transient Fault Handling Application Block with SQL Azure https://msdn.microsoft.com/library/hh680899(v=pandp.50).aspx

Cloud business continuity and database disaster recovery with SQL Database https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/sql-database-business-continuity/

Azure SQL Database Geo-Restore https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/azure-sql-database-geo-restore/

Spotlight on SQL Database Active Geo-Replication https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/spotlight-on-sql-database-active-geo-replication/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author

Concurrency Blog

The latest about Concurrency

Tags in this Article